The Commission members are supported by a small secretariat which undertakes research, analysis and consultation in support of law reform recommendations.  The Secretariat also provides the Commission with administrative and secretarial support. Secretariat staff are employees of the Department of Justice and Attorney-General.

  • Matthew Corrigan

    Matthew Corrigan

    Matthew joined the Queensland Law Reform Commission as Executive Director in March 2023. Previously, he was the General Counsel and Senior Executive Leader at the Australian Law Reform Commission from 2016-2023. At the ALRC he led nine law reform inquiries on diverse topics such as financial services legislation, civil procedure, corporate criminal responsibility, family law and elder abuse. Prior to joining the ALRC, Matthew had a diverse legal career working for the Australian Government, private law firms, the Parliament of Australia, the United Nations, international NGOs, and as an independent consultant. Matt has worked in Bangladesh, Myanmar and South Sudan. Matt holds a LLM with Merit from ANU and a BA(Hons) and LLB (Hons) from Melbourne University.
  • Cathy Green

    Cathy Green

    Cathy was appointed as Director of the Commission in May 2023. Over the past two decades with the Commission, Cathy has been promoted from Legal Officer to Principal Legal Officer to Assistant Director. In this time, Cathy has led many large and complex law reform reviews on topics including: voluntary assisted dying, civil surveillance and privacy, termination of pregnancy and guardianship laws. Cathy has also worked as a legal officer at the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Guardianship and Administration Tribunal, as a policy officer at the Office of Fair Trading, and as a research officer at and the Queensland Parliamentary Library. Before studying law, Cathy worked as a research scientist at the Queensland Institute of Medical Research. Cathy holds a LLB from QUT and a BSc from UQ.

Mining lease objections review

Principal Legal Officers

  • Anita Galeazzi
  • Dr Emma Phillips

Senior Legal Officers

  • Dayne Kingsford
  • Jade Watson (DES Secondee)

Legal Officers

  • Jack Cuming
  • Erica Wilkinson

Review of particular criminal defences

Principal Legal Officer

  • Paula Rogers
  • Jodie O’Leary
  • Kellie Jones

Senior Legal Officer

  • Edward Fleetwood (DPP Secondee)

Business Manager

  • Kathleen Melten

Manager, Communications and Engagement

  • Libby Burke

Administrative Officers

  • Natalie Collins
  • Kahren Giles