Chair and members

Members of the Commission are appointed by the Governor in Council on the advice of the Attorney-General. Each person appointed to be a Commission member must be a person suitably qualified by:

  • the holding of judicial office,
  • by experience as a barrister or solicitor, or
  • as a teacher of law in a university.
  • Photo of President Kingham

    President Kingham - Chair

    Fleur Kingham was the President of the Land Court of Queensland from 2016 to 2024. Her Honour is the President of the Australian Association of Women Judges. President Kingham has a LLB (Hons) and a BA from the University of Queensland and a Master of International Law (Dist) from the University of Nottingham. President Kingham is a continuing member of the Griffith Law School Visiting Committee and was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Griffith University in 2016. Her Honour's previous judicial appointments include positions on the Land and Resources Tribunal, the Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal, and as a Judge of the District Court of Queensland.
  • His Honour Judge Anthony Rafter SC

    Judge Anthony Rafter SC - Deputy Chair

    His Honour is a Judge of the District Court of Queensland, the Childrens Court of Queensland and the Planning and Environment Court. Judge Rafter has also served as an Acting Judge on the District Court of New South Wales in 2019, as Acting Justice on the Supreme Court of Queensland in 2021 and Acting President of the Childrens Court from June 2022 to November 2022. Judge Rafter was admitted as a barrister in 1985 and appointed Senior Counsel in 2003. He has previously been the Chairperson of the Nursing Tribunal, a member of the Board of Legal Aid Queensland and a Commissioner of the Queensland Thoroughbred Racing Inquiry.
  • Mr Glen Cranny

    Mr Cranny has practiced as a solicitor since 1995, is an accredited specialist in criminal law, and a regular author, presenter, lecturer and media commentator on criminal law and related topics. His clients span the public and private sectors, the legal and health professions, and law enforcement. In 2010, Mr Cranny was appointed a Senior Counsellor of the Law Society, and in 2019 was awarded the Law Society’s President’s Medal for services to the legal profession. His professional interests include the legal education of young lawyers, public sector ethics, and scientific evidence.
  • Ms Avelina Tarrago

    Ms Avelina Tarrago

    Ms Tarrago is a Wangkamahdla woman from central-west Queensland. She is a barrister with a practice focused on inquests and inquiries, health, regulatory and administrative law jurisdictions. Ms Tarrago previously had a 17 year career in the public service as a Government Legal Officer for the Coroners Court of Queensland, Office of the Health Ombudsman and Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions. In 2014, Ms Tarrago completed an Indigenous Fellowship with the Office of the High Commissioner of Human Rights. In 2023, she was also appointed to the Board of Legal Aid Queensland.
  • Mr Mark Hinson KC

    Mr Mark Hinson KC

    Mr Hinson KC graduated from the University of Queensland with a BA and LLB (Hons). He has a LLM from University of Cambridge. Mr Hinson was admitted as a barrister in 1981 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1998. He was appointed an Acting Judge of the District Court between August and November 1998.
  • Ruth O'Gorman KC

    Ms Ruth O'Gorman KC

    Ms O'Gorman practises in criminal law where she appears in trials in the Supreme, District and Magistrates Courts of Queensland, and appeals in the High Court of Australia and Queensland Court of Appeal. In 2023, Doyles Guide listed Ruth as a pre-eminent senior counsel in criminal law in Queensland and a recommended senior counsel in criminal law in Australia. She also accepts briefs in professional disciplinary matters and regulatory prosecutions. Ms O'Gorman appears in inquiries and inquests. In 2022, she was the senior Counsel Assisting the Independent Commission of Inquiry into Queensland Police Service responses to domestic and family violence. In 2020 – 2021, Ms O'Gorman was one of the Counsel Assisting the Queensland Coal Mining Board of Inquiry.
  • Dr Alice Taylor

    Dr Alice Taylor

    Dr Taylor is an Assistant Professor at Bond University. Dr Taylor was awarded a PhD from ANU in 2020 which focused on discrimination law in Australia, the United Kingdom and Canada. She has undertaken visiting positions at universities in the UK and Canada. Prior to entering academia, she was admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of New South Wales in 2013. She has worked as a solicitor at a top-tier commercial law firm, an Associate at the Supreme Court of Queensland and the Legal Research Officer at the High Court of Australia.

Team Photo

Commission Members and Secretariat staff as at June 2023

From L to R: Edward Fleetwood, Jodie O'Leary, Emma Phillips, Amie Clutterbuck, Kathleen Melten, Clare Endicott, Dayne Kingsford, Judge Tony Rafter,  Matthew Corrigan, President Kingham, Mark Hinson, Alice Taylor, Cathy Green, Libby Burke, Penny White, Erica Wilkinson, Sophia Bird, Anita Galeazzi.